Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Will the Weak Housing Market Keep Mortgage Rates Low?

As I mentioned a few weeks ago, refinance mortgage rates could be going up at the enad of this month due to the end of the government stimulus programs aimed at keeping mortgage rates low.

But with a housing market that continues to show weakness, will the government not do something to keep mortgage rates low? One would suspect that the Fed will be keeping a close eye on the mortgage rates front. Some are guessing that the end of the Fed buyback programs are already built into today’s rates while others have been expecting a decent jump up in rates for April.

The overall economy has experienced a bit of a rebound as of late, which may put a damper on government stimulus to keep mortgage rates as low as they are now. It could be that a continued growth in the economy with a continued weak housing market could help to keep mortgage rates in a historic low “range”, but not necessarily at the levels we have experienced over the past several months.

Another cog in the wheel of the direction of mortgage rates is the future of the GSE’s such as Fannie and Freddie. The whole mortgage and housing market currently relies on the three government pillars, Fannie, Freddie and the Federal Housing Administration (FHA). There has been no real direction coming from the Obama administration on how these entities will be reformed. Future reform for these behemoths is up in the air at the moment.

Some on Capitol Hill argue that the government's push to expand homeownership through Fannie and Freddie was the main cause of the financial crisis, and that they should be phased out within four years. This could kill investor confidence in government guaranteed mortgage securities and cause a major rise in mortgage rates.

Yet, there are some powerful interests that don't want to rock the boat too hard. The National Association of Realtors is pushing to preserve Fannie and Freddie, but as nonprofit government authorities without private shareholders.

I opt for the latter as a solution, as we need to keep investors buying-up quality mortgage securities, while keeping the spread and corresponding mortgage rates as low as possible during the stabilization of the housing market.

If you are considering a home mortgage refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive refinance rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Refinance Mortgage Rates and Discount Points

When quoting a mortgage rate for a refinancing homeowner, one of the first questions I usually receive is, “How many points are with that rate?” Now this would seem like a logical question because pretty much all rate quote advertising is geared toward the interest rate and how many discount points are applied. Yet, discount points versus the corresponding mortgage rate is only part of the picture.

Since mortgage discount points are paid upfront (or rolled-back in to your loan amount), they are essentially a closing cost. One discount point equals one percent of the total loan amount. So, if you are refinancing a $200,000 loan amount at a mortgage rate with one discount point applied, the discount point fee is $2,000 and applied to your closing costs.

Now here’s the dirty little secret for those that want to compare the rates among different lenders. Forget about how many discount points are being applied to your quoted rate! Yes, you read that correctly.

What you want to see are the bottom-line closing costs on a good faith estimate for the same rate, loan program, and qualifying factors from the different lenders you contact, on the same day.

As an example, suppose you are refinancing your first mortgage that has a remaining balance of $150,000, your estimated property value is $250,000, and your credit score is 745. You are looking for a 15-Year Fixed Rate mortgage. Make sure that each quote you receive is for the same variables and on the same day in order to get the most reliable comparison.

You speak with lender A, and they send you a separate good faith estimate on a 15-Year fixed rate mortgage for a 4.25%, 4.50%, and 4.75% program option. When you speak with lenders B and C, make sure to get good faith estimates for the 15-year fixed rate 4.25%, 4.50%, and 4.75% options using the same qualifying factors.

Next, you compare each rate quote by adding up all the costs and subtracting out any items for estimated pre-paids, estimated escrow deposits, estimated mortgage tax, and estimated recording fees. This leaves you with the direct bottom-line closing costs to compare among differing mortgage lenders for each rate you were quoted.

You may find that lender A quoted you the lowest discount points for any given rate, but their bottom-line closing costs are actually higher than lenders B or C. The bottom-line with tell you either way.

The weight that a discount point carries toward lowering a mortgage rate can vary among lenders, not to mention the fact that the fixed, or “third party” portion of closing costs can be significantly different among mortgage lenders.

Remember, don’t worry about the discount points, you want to know the bottom line!

If you are considering a home mortgage refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive refinance rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, March 10, 2010

15-Year Fixed Rate Refinance Still a Great Deal for Those in 30-Year Mortgages

I’ve touched on this topic before, but again want to reiterate that refinancing into a 15-Year mortgage can be a great deal for those currently in 30-Year mortgages. 15-year refinance mortgage rates are still in awesome shape, but may not be this low for too much longer. The key is that the spread between current 15-year and 30-year mortgage rates has widened over the past several months, making the 15-year interest rates extremely attractive for those with a loan timeframe of 5 years or more.

Refinancing into a 15-year fixed rate mortgage will benefit those that can comfortably handle the payment of course, but it may not be as high as you think. Lets go over an example so you can see what I’m rambling about.

Say Mr. Borrower is refinancing out of a 30-year fixed mortgage into a 15-year fixed rate home loan. He took out his original mortgage 4 years ago for $190,000 at 6.5%. His mortgage is paid down to $180,000 and he is refinancing a $180,000 loan amount into a 15-year fixed rate loan at 4.25% with no lender fee.

Mr. Borrower’s current principle and interest (P&I) monthly payment is $1,201 and after refinancing into the 15-year fixed, his monthly P&I will be $1,354. So, the monthly payment only increases $153.

The benefits for paying an additional $153 per month are quite astounding.

First, his loan term will be reduced by 11 years. (26 years remaining on current loan minus the 15-year new loan term).

Secondly, he will be saving a net total of $130,338 in interest over the term of his new mortgage. (26 years remaining on current mortgage results in $194,076 remaining interest to be paid. Total interest to be paid for 15-year loan is $63,738. $194,076 minus $63,738 equals total savings of $130,338).

Thirdly, Mr. Borrower will not be taxed on that $130,338 in savings (profit).

For those with a long-term timeframe and financially in the position to take advantage of the current 15-year refinance mortgage rates, this is really a fantastic opportunity while the interest rates last.

If you are considering a home mortgage refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive refinance rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, March 3, 2010

What are Your Home Refinance Goals?

Before a refinancing homeowner even speaks with a refinance mortgage lender, they should write down the goals hoped to accomplish for their new loan. Now this may sound funny, but once you begin your refinance search, you will most likely encounter mortgage quotes for multiple refinancing options. It is very easy to get lost in the interest rates, discount points, closing costs, and loan terms. Without an initial goal, it can be easy to refinance into a new mortgage that may not be the best fit for your specific circumstances.

For instance, is money tight, and you want to save at least $300 per month with a 30 year fixed rate mortgage. Maybe you want to consolidate all your credit card balances to save $500 per month and shorten the term of your home loan. Or, maybe you want to consolidate that first and second mortgage into one lower fixed rate and save at least $250 per month.

Maybe your refinance goal is unrealistic or maybe you are understating the actual financial benefit for a new mortgage, but it is still important to have an initial goal.

With your refinance goal in mind, next you need to determine what your anticipated timeframe will be for your new home loan. Will you be in your new mortgage for at least five years, ten years, or until the end of the loan?

With these two factors alone (goal and timeframe) you will be well armed to hit your refinance lender for some quotes.

Your refinancing loan professional should be able to quickly check current mortgage programs for your initial goal based upon your pre-qualifying factors. Some refinance lenders will also be able to give you a “breakeven” point in months for your closing costs.

So, if your goal is to save $300 per month refinancing your first mortgage into a 30-Year fixed loan and you plan to stay in your new mortgage for at least 5 years, a bottom-line quote that will save you $325 per month with a breakeven point of 22 months may be just the program you are looking for.

The point is that you will be well informed at the beginning of your refinancing process and be able to skip to the bottom-line to determine your desired benefit for your timeframe.

If you are considering a home mortgage refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive refinance rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Are Refinance Mortgage Rates Going Up?

I really must say that we have been quite spoiled over the past year with mortgage refinance rates hovering near historic lows for much of the span. Unfortunately, on the other side of the coin, home loan qualification has become much more difficult. Throw in a dash of declining home market values and a pinch of “Full-Doc” only refinance program offerings and those low mortgage rates have been quite a tease for a good number of potential refinancing homeowners.

A big question that I get every day is whether or when refinance mortgage rates will be going up. I never predict where mortgage rates will go, especially on a short-term basis, but try to give input about major looming factors that can have a significant impact on refinance interest rates.

One of these major factors that could cause refinance mortgage rates to rise significantly in the near future is the end of the government stimulus program aimed at keeping mortgage rates low.

The Fed has been buying mortgage-backed securities, the bundling of home loans that are used to fund mortgage lending, since late 2008. But next month it plans to complete its purchase of $1.25 trillion in mortgages. This may have an immediate impact by causing a rise to the mortgage-spread premium, a direct component of mortgage rates.

The Fed will also be ending its buying of US treasuries next month, which could cause the yield on the 10-Year bond to rise. Since mortgage rates are based on this benchmark, they would rise in kind.

Yes, we’re talking about a potential double-whammy pop for mortgage rates next month.

The extent of the rise will be anyone’s guess, especially in light of the current housing and employment picture. Unstable employment and housing are major risk factors for mortgage lenders, and they do not like risk whatsoever. Some on the street are predicting a half-point increase while others have “guessed” 6.0 percent par rates on 30-Year Fixed mortgages by the end of this year. In my opinion, predictions are futile, but you can’t ignore the major headwinds in the market.

To compound issues, is the end of up to $8,000 in tax credits for homebuyers. To qualify, buyers face an April 30 deadline to sign a sales contract. Potential rising mortgage rates and no homebuyer incentive could put a severe drag on the housing market and home values.

One bit of good news is that home prices edged up in December, the seventh straight monthly gain. If the government comes in to save the day once again by helping to keep mortgage rates stable and by extending the homebuyer tax credit program, we could be close to a bottom in housing. One would think that the government would do something to keep the housing momentum going. They have done much to prop up the housing market, and it’s hard to believe that they will suddenly let the house of cards fall again.

If you are considering a home mortgage refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive refinance rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Refinance Mortgage Closing Costs and Your Home Loan Timeframe

There are two dirty words that refinancing homeowners hate to hear mention of, and they would be refinance mortgage closing costs and Private Mortgage Insurance, or PMI. Now, with PMI, the refinance borrower is charged a monthly insurance premium, which is solely for the benefit of the lender, so I can understand the frustration with that requirement for FHA loans and over 80 percent LTV conventional loans. Closing costs can be another source of frustration for borrowers because they can sometimes add up to a significant amount depending upon many factors.

The good news is that with closing costs, as long as you know (or anticipate) the amount of time you plan to be in your new home loan (timeframe), we can easily figure out the breakeven point for the mortgage closing costs. Once this is calculated, you can project your total benefit, which can really help to put closing costs into a new light, and potentially stop a refinancing homeowner from putting the brakes on a new mortgage that will reap good financial benefit for them.

For example, suppose you are looking to refinance your first mortgage with a current 6.25% interest rate and $175,000 balance and your second mortgage with a current 6.5% interest rate and $45,000 balance into one new 30 year fixed rate mortgage at 5.0%.

The monthly principle and interest (P&I) on your current 1st mortgage is $1,140 and the P&I on your second mortgage is $435 for a total monthly P&I of $1,575.

The closing costs for your new mortgage is $3,500, so your new total loan amount would be $223,500. At 5.0%, your new 30-year fixed rate mortgage monthly payment would be equal to $1,200.

So, your projected net monthly savings is $375 (1,575 minus 1,200).

To calculate your breakeven point for closing costs, simply divide the total closing costs by the monthly savings. In this example, the breakeven point is 9.33 months (3,500 divided by 375).

In this example, if you plan on staying in your new home loan for more than 10 months, it’s a good deal. Stay in even longer and it’s a great deal.

Here are the total net savings (including deduction for closing costs) for this scenario:

1 Year – $1,000
3 Years – $10,000
5 Years – $19,000
10 Years – $41,500
15 Years – $64,000
20 Years – $86,500
30 Years - $131,500

At first glance, Mr. refinancing homeowner might have scoffed at paying $3,500 for closing costs. If that homeowner just hung up the phone and screamed “rip-off!” (as many refinance shoppers are prone to do), he might well in fact be ripping himself off if he plans to stay in his home for more than a year. In fact, if he stays in his home for 5 years or more, he is throwing a huge amount of savings out the window for an unsubstantiated pre-conceived notion that refinance mortgage closing costs are a rip-off.

Once you get your quotes and calculate your breakeven point, the whole business of closing costs will be settled. If the numbers don’t work out for your timeframe, then you won’t get into a mortgage that is not in your best interest (You won’t feel like you’re missing out on the parade while refinance rates are at historic lows).

On the other hand, if the numbers show a significant benefit for your timeframe, then you won’t miss out on a financially smart deal, and you won’t feel the burden of closing costs.

Let’s face it, refinance closing costs are a requirement of refinancing your home (no-closing cost options actually have a cost in a higher interest rate). The key is to calculate your benefit and loan timeframe. You might even consider refinance closing costs as your best friend (why did you slap me?), after you get down to the bottom-line loan savings and long-term financial gain.

If you are considering a home mortgage refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive refinance rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Refinance Mortgage Applications to Rise as ARMs Reset Higher

As if we need another kick in the stomach during this trouble economic period, thousands of US homeowners are experiencing fresh payment shock on their home mortgages as adjustable rate mortgages reset higher. Unfortunately, this is leaving countless homeowners in a struggle to make ends meet at the end of each month.

Expect a rise in the number of refinance mortgage applications as the full wave of the current ARM resets hit across the country.

All of this is in face of declining home values throughout America, leaving many homeowners in an “underwater” mortgage scenario. This is where the value of the borrower’s home has decreased to a level that is below the principle balance of the mortgage on the house.

The actual number of ARMs due to reset this year is unclear, but analysts estimate that as many as 1.3 million borrowers took out $389 billion in option ARMs in 2004 and 2005 alone. Many of these home loans will be due to adjust this year.

Another worry is that the Fed will increase interest rates in the coming months in order to fend off inflation. These are the rates often tied to ARM indexes and could result in more payments being adjusted upward sooner.

Add the soon ending home buyer tax credit and this could pack another wallop to an already ailing housing market.

For those that can’t refinance out of their adjustable rate mortgage, they would be advised to try and work something out with their lender. The Obama administration has been increasing pressure on banks to help borrowers, but it's still up to the banks to decide if they will. We have heard this story too many times in the past couple of years, so don’t expect much help with government “subsidized” mortgage loan modifications.

Home foreclosures have steadied somewhat recently, could reach 4 million in the US in 2010 according to RealtyTrac. Let’s hope the numbers are wrong.

On the mortgage refinance rates front, the 10-Year treasury yield has backed off a bit over the past week, causing a slight dip to already attractive home loan interest rates.

If you are considering a home mortgage refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive refinance rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Mortgage Refinance Rates Drop on Week

On Tuesday, Treasury bond prices rose, pushing yields to their lowest level since Christmas amid a slight up-tick in activity. This, as we know, is good for refinance mortgage rates and rates have dropped this week.

The key for future significant interest rate movement to the upside is to watch the yield on the 10-year Treasury. Any break above the 4.0 percent level could mean bad things as far as mortgage rates go.

As for the economy and the jobs front, ADP projected that non-farm payrolls will post an 84,000 decline in December, a touch worse-than-expected. Even so, the trend is positive and, despite month-to-month variations, ADP has tracked the official NFP change fairly well. Whether payrolls turned positive in December or not, they are headed for positive territory.

Pending home sales for November did not fare so well. The number of people preparing to buy a home fell sharply in November, an unsettling new sign that the housing market may be headed for a "double-dip" downturn over the winter. The National Association of Realtors said its seasonally adjusted index of sales contracts fell 16 percent from October to November, ending nine months of gains. Economists surveyed by Thomson Reuters had expected only a 2 percent drop. No doubt, the governments $8,000 tax credit expiration, then extension to this spring has played a major role in November’s pending sales housing numbers.

So, as the trend has gone, we are getting conflicting economic reports on some of the major areas affecting mortgages and mortgage rates.

In addition, the Federal Reserve has been busy buying up $1.25 trillion in mortgage-backed securities to help keep interest rates at or near record lows. This program almost single handedly brought the mortgage spread premium (and the rates offered to mortgage borrowers) down by a full percentage point. That program is scheduled to run out at the end of March, though a sudden jump in rates could force the Fed to extend it.

Refinance mortgage rates are still near historic lows, so there is still time to take advantage of the low rates. Just make sure to get a solid refinance pre-qualification to include your income, credit, and approximate home value before you jump in to the process. Those that are currently qualified stand to reap a financially significant benefit with low mortgage rates that may not be available again in the future.

If you are considering a home mortgage refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive refinance rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Treasury Yield Creeping Up Along with Refinance Mortgage Rates

In the span of a few short weeks, the yield on the 10-Year treasury has bolted up by more than one-half of a percentage point. That is a major move in treasuries and confirms the current investor mood is getting a bit comfier at the year’s end.

Whether investor sentiment moving away from long term bonds in favor of riskier and higher yielding investments is smart here is not our call, we can only work with what is given. Of course we know that as the 10-Year treasury yield goes up, so does refinance mortgage rates. So, with the recent investor movement out of 10-Year bonds and into the equities market, mortgage rates have bounced up off historic lows by almost one-half percent, roughly the same amount as the rise in the 10-Year Treasury Yield.

Fortunately for those still considering a home refinance, mortgage rates are still in good shape with the current par or “even” rate on the 30-year fixed home loan standing near 5.25 percent.

The big test for further and significant increases to mortgage refinance rates will be the 4.0 percent level on the 10-year treasury. Back in June of this year, we almost breached the 4.0 percent level, but there was strong resistance at that mark. The 10-year ultimately fell back to levels near 3.2 percent in November.

Just as with stocks, major resistance levels, once breached, can lead to a major move upward. The10-year treasury 4.0 percent mark is the major resistance level to pay attention to as far as refinance mortgage rates are concerned. A solid close above this level could be a bad sign for mortgage rates, at least in the short-term.

I know that there are many people that held out when rates recently hit historic lows, but refinance rates are still in great shape for those considering a lock. Yes, they have bounced off their lows, but the risk that interest rates will rise significantly higher still outweighs the risk that they will fall like a rock at current levels.

In housing, the S&P composite index of home prices in 20 metropolitan areas was flat in October, falling short of expectations for a rise of 0.2 percent according to a Reuters survey. September's index was revised upward to a gain of 0.4 percent, from a previously reported 0.3 percent.

Some would leave you to believe that the housing market has now stabilized, but that assessment may be preliminary. A continued rise in home defaults along with a huge crop of foreclosures waiting to hit the listing market could produce another wave of falling home prices. Continued low mortgage rates along with improvement in consumer confidence and employment could help to curtail further home price drops. We’ll just have to wait and see where the ball bounces from here.

If you are considering a home mortgage refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive refinance rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Mortgage Refinance Rates Set Another Record Low – How Long Will it Last?

The mortgage refinance rates environment hit another record low last week. The average interest rate for a 30-year mortgage dropped to a record low of 4.71 percent. The previous record of 4.78 percent was set during the week ending April 30 and matched last week. The average rate on a 15-year fixed-rate mortgage fell to a record low of 4.27 percent, from 4.29 percent last week, according to Freddie Mac.


As the Federal Reserve continues to pump funds into mortgage-backed securities, rates have continued to drop. The continued rush of investors into the security of US Treasuries has also lent a heaping dose of rate drop in recent weeks.

In the face of recent historic low refinance mortgage rate news is the loan qualification question for many homeowners. Refinancing lenders have tightened their standards dramatically over the past year. Credit score and loan-to-value (LTV) requirements have tightened, while “stated-income” and other reduced documentation loan types have disappeared from the refinancing landscape.

Home prices have fallen, and it is estimated that 23 percent of homeowners with a mortgage, owe more on their home loans than their house is currently worth according to First American CoreLogic, a real estate information company. This is creating a major qualification problem for many American homeowners that could benefit significantly with a home refinance at current mortgage interest rates.

Those that do not qualify for an 80 percent LTV refinance home loan with excellent credit scores should check out an FHA refinance. The FHA loan program currently allows a homeowner to finance up to 97 percent of the value of their home with a qualifying mid credit score as low as a 620. In fact, many borrowers have switched from conventional mortgages to FHA refinance loans for significant savings and benefit at the current low historic refinance rates.

So, how long will mortgage rates stay this low? For those that follow the Refinance Toolbox Blog, you will know that we never predict where mortgage rates will go, but report on the current events impacting interest rates and future events that could move mortgage rates in a significant fashion.

Putting on our “common sense” hat for a second, it would appear that further future reduction to mortgage rates will be minimal at best, with a likelier probability that interest rates will rise. The rise in refinance rates could be significant.

An improving economy could lend itself to a dramatic increase in the 10-Year Treasury yield. The yield has held at historic lows for quite some time as investors like the security during national economic turmoil while inflation is kept in check. As the treasury-yield goes up, mortgage refinance rates will rise.

Current mortgage rates have been kept artificially low due in large part to the US government bailout plan, in which the Federal Reserve is spending $1.2 Trillion to buy-up mortgage-backed securities. This program is due to end in April, 2010, and could have a significant impact to rising mortgage rates.

Although inflation numbers have been kept in check for the moment, a future inflation jump could lend a helping hand to rapidly rising refinance mortgage rates. Many are concerned that the government’s bailout effort will lead to significant inflation down the road. The feeling is that too much money has been printed, which will cause some major inflation problems at some point.

Well, should I lock my rate now?

After a solid refinance pre-qualification, it would not only be a good time to lock your interest rate, but a great time to take advantage of the lowest mortgage rates available since the number has been tracked. The risk that mortgage rates will rise significantly is much greater than the risk that you will lock as rates continue downward.

If you are considering a home mortgage refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive refinance rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Rates on 30-Year Refinance Mortgages Sink, Match Record Low

While employment, housing, and the economy in general remain in tough shape, refinance and home purchase mortgage rates have officially sunk to record lows. Last week, Freddie Mac reported that average rates on 30-year mortgages have fallen to a level matching the record low interest rates reached this past spring. Rates for 30-year mortgages averaged 4.78 percent last week, down from 4.83 percent the prior week and equaling the record low reached the week of April 30.

The average rate on a 15-year fixed-rate mortgage fell to 4.29 percent, down from 4.32 percent last week, according to Freddie Mac. The 15-year rate hasn't been this low since Freddie Mac started tracking it in 1991. Rates on five-year, adjustable-rate mortgages averaged 4.18 percent, down from last week's 4.25 percent. Rates on one-year, adjustable-rate mortgages were 4.35 percent for the second consecutive week.

It is important to note that the rates do not include add-on fees known as points. The nationwide fee for loans in Freddie Mac's survey averaged 0.7 point for 30-year and one-year loans. The fee averaged 0.6 point for 15-year and five-year mortgages.

So, what does this all mean?

It means that homeowners could very well be in a position to refinance into a historic low mortgage rate and benefit financially for numerous home loan scenarios.

While refinance mortgage rates are so low, lets go over some possible refinancing scenarios that could pack a powerful savings punch for both short-term and long-term loan scenarios.

One option that can produce both short-term and long-term benefits is the regular refinance into a 30-year fixed mortgage. Most qualified homeowners should be able to shave at least 1 to 2 percentage points off of their current mortgage rate. Depending upon the loan amount, monthly savings can be quite significant.

Another option is to refinance for short and long-term goals is to do a debt consolidation loan. Borrowers that qualify normally reduce their overall monthly payments by several hundreds per month with this strategy when interest rates are even much higher than current, so this option could be a huge money-saver for those holding credit card, auto, and installment loan debt.

How about getting that 1st and 2nd mortgage refinanced into one historic low fixed rate? The savings can be quite significant and reduce the hassle of holding 2 mortgages. This could be an especially enticing option for those that currently hold variable rate 2nd mortgages and HELOC loans. The Fed is hinting that short-term rates may be rising soon, which could cause those variable interest rates and corresponding monthly payments to rise significantly.

Maybe it’s time to refinance out of that ARM mortgage? If you are currently in an ARM, your current mortgage rate might not be that bad, but for the reasons mentioned prior, it could be a good time to jump out of that variable rate before they soar up again.

I’ll mention one more power-packed benefit loan scenario and my all-time favorite for taking advantage of today’s low rates. It’s of course, refinancing into a shorter-term mortgage. The caveat here is that your monthly principal and interest will most likely increase, but if you qualify and are comfortable with the new monthly payment, watch out! Those refinancing from a 30-year loan into a 15 year mortgage at today’s rates will typically save anywhere from fifty thousand to the hundreds of thousands of dollars (depending upon borrower’s current interest rate and loan size) in saved interest over the term of the loan. And you might be surprised that your monthly payment does not go up as much as you might think, because of how the amortization repayment schedule works on a shorter-term mortgage loan.

Are those enough options? Enough of a reason to check out a home refinance at today’s rates? Actually, there are probably countless other refinancing scenarios that can produce significant benefits for borrowers at the current interest rates, but I just wanted to go over a few of the major ones.

I try not to be a sales-pitch man with the information provided here, but at current refinance rate levels, many people are eligible for some great financial deals. In today’s tough economic times, any bit of financial relief can be a great benefit for individuals and families across the US. Whether you request information or rate quotes from the Refinance Tool Box, or another place, a home refinance might be worth checking out for your benefit.

If you are considering a home mortgage refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive refinance rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, November 25, 2009

October Home Sales Surge! Good News for Refinancing Homeowners?

Home sales surged for the second month in a row in October, reaching the highest level in 2.5 years. This nationwide sales event marks a 36 percent increase from the housing market bottom in January.

These beefy numbers are being attributed to first-time homebuyers scurrying to take advantage of historic low mortgage rates, cheap home prices, and to beat the clock on the November expiration of the homebuyer tax credit (the government has since extended the tax credit to April 30 for first-time homebuyers and even added a tax credit for existing homeowners).

In a sobering note on housing, the Wall Street Journal had an article yesterday morning, noting that 23 percent of homeowners owe more on their house than the house is worth. Some states are in especially bad shape with Nevada (65%), Arizona (48%), Florida (45%), Michigan (37%), and California (35%) leading the pack.

So, October’s surge in home sales means that home values will be going up and refinancing homeowners can get a bump in their home’s equity value, right? Well, not exactly, as home values have done little but tread water during the past couple months of solid home sales numbers. People and investors are buying up foreclosed and distressed sale homes at bargain basement prices, so overall home value is staying even at best.

The real question is where home sales and home values will go from here and into 2010. Many in the industry are calling for further home price declines into the spring as homebuyers hibernate during the winter in light of the homebuyer tax credit extension.

Another concern for the housing market is twofold. First, there are a glut of foreclosed homes on the sidelines ready to hit the market. Secondly, job losses are pushing once creditworthy homeowners into default. Borrowers with prime, fixed-rate loans accounted for one in three new foreclosures in the second quarter, the Mortgage Bankers Association said last week. Nationwide, a record 14 percent of homeowners with a mortgage were either behind on their payments or in foreclosure.

So, as you can see, the October Homes Sales Surge feels all warm and toasty to those reading the headlines, but the undercurrent is still a muddied mess.

What does all this home sales and home value stuff mean to refinancing homeowners you might ask? Good question! It means that what you think your home is worth, and what it will actually appraise at could be two very different figures. Since home value directly affects the borrower’s Loan-to-Value (LTV) ratio, which in turn impacts qualifying mortgage interest rates, refinance program options, and home loan program acceptance/denial, it means a lot.

If I have said it once, I’ve said it a million times (and probably have), that refinancing homeowners should do their best in coming to a “realistic” value for their home in the current market during the pre-qualification stage of their home refinance. Yes, that is easier said than done, but at least check online at some of the free home eppraisal sites such as Zillow.com. You can take the online values given with a grain of salt, but at least you will have an idea of what your home may be valued at, and you can cross reference your home against similar and recently sold homes in your area.

Refinance mortgage rates are frightfully low at the moment, so you want to take advantage. Just don’t go into it with your eyes closed. For qualified borrowers with solid home values and adequate equity, it’s a great time to take advantage!

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Historic Low Refinance Mortgage Rates – One Benefit of a Sluggish Economy

The US economy has seen better days, and to say that our country is in a bit of an economic slump would be an understatement. The jobs picture is as bad as we have encountered in quite some time, with no relief projected for the immediate future.

In fact, much of our middle-income America has had to stomach dramatic declines in their retirement accounts, while the cost of food and energy continues to soar. The wealthy can absorb hits to long-term savings, but the less-than-wealthy people experience a much heavier burden.

I know, that’s all you want to hear is about more economic doom and gloom, and a rehash of the downward spiral in many of our retirement savings accounts.

Duly noted. That is why I would like to switch the focus to a shining star that has come out of our country’s economic mess …. Historic Low Refinance Mortgage Rates!

For many homeowners that are looking to lower their monthly payments, consolidate debts, or lower their loan terms, current mortgage interest rates paint a rosy picture. This is not meant as a sales pitch, but many people are taking advantage of the current rates and realizing benefits in the ten’s of thousands to hundred’s of thousands of dollars in savings over the term of their new home loans.

The point is, that it could be in your best interest (excuse the pun), to see if there is a refinance loan program that will result in a significant benefit for you.

The US government, in it’s bailout efforts, has helped to create our current historic low mortgage interest rates, but that aid is coming to an end soon. Both the government’s buy-back of US Treasuries and mortgage securities are slated to be complete by the early part of 2010. This could present a double-whammy effect on refinance mortgage rates as the 10-Year Treasury Yield could rise in conjunction with a rise in the mortgage spread premium. Yes, mortgage rates could rise significantly in the near future.

Although I don’t predict where mortgage rates will go, one cannot be blind to major headwinds coming around the corner. This reminds me of the old saying to “Strike While the Iron’s Hot”. My new, although not as catchy saying is to “Strike While Mortgage Rates are at Historic Lows because there’s little room left for rates to fall, but a whole lot of room to Go Up”. Yeah, I know, it’s a little lengthy, but I’m working on it!

Keep in mind that if you are planning on taking advantage of the current low refinance mortgage rates, you will need to have a minimum 620 mid fico credit score for either a conventional or FHA loan.

Also, make sure to check online at some of the free home value estimation sites so that you can get a general idea of the value of your home. The housing market is still kind of crazy, so you don’t want to go into the refinance process with blinders on.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, November 11, 2009

About Low-Ball Mortgage Refinance Rate Advertisements

If you have ever shopped for a new car, then you know that the low low advertised price for your auto of choice may not necessarily be the same as the price you are quoted at the dealership. Hey, you want tires with that? Oh, your credit score isn’t over 800? I think you get the point, and unfortunately, many mortgage refinance rate advertisements are not any better.

I just received a mortgage rate advertisement in my email inbox this morning from a major mortgage lending company that gave me a chuckle. The subject line says “Rates drop to 3.59% APR*. Then the message goes on to make sure that I know that I should lock my rate now, before rates rise. Now, those are some really nice folks at that loan company, making sure that they are looking out for my welfare.

Unfortunately, the 3.59% APR asterisk marking does not tell me in the email, what the 3.59% program is, or what the qualifications are. You guessed it, it sounds like the ole Crazy Lenny’s Auto World Emporium sales pitch all over again.

In reality, they probably do have a 3.59% refinance program available, but it’s most likely for an adjustable rate mortgage (ARM) for people refinancing with superior credit and a loan-to-value ratio that is under 80 percent. Heavy discount points are applied, so the lender fees are quite substantial.

Why don’t they just mention that in the advertisement then? Well, I think you’ve got it. First, most people do not want to touch ARM loans any more. Secondly, most people do not have superior credit. Thirdly, most people are refinancing over 80 percent of the value of their homes. Finally, they know that a lot of people would not take kindly to a large lender fee quote.

So, you haven’t visited the Refinance ToolBox, and don’t know these little advertising tricks and decided to apply for this great 3.59% APR refinance home loan. You want a 30 year fixed mortgage, have a decent credit score, and are refinancing 85 percent of the value of your home.

What’s This? You are now told that you are not eligible for a 3.59% APR home loan, and that your real qualifying rate is over 5.0%!! (A 5.0% is actually a great rate that can provide a substantial financial benefit for many refinancing howmowners, but why not just be upfront in the advertisement?)

As the steam evaporates from your forehead, you realize that you’ve been duped. Don’t worry about it, you have a lot of company.

The important point to remember is that you should be very leery about advertised mortgage refinance rates that seem too good to be true, especially if there is no small print in the ad that states what the program is, and what the basic qualification requirements are.

Finally, the question you have to ask your self is …. Do you even want to work with a home loan lender that resorts to trickery in their advertisements, just to get you into their virtual doors? I don’t know about you, but I think I’ll take a pass!

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Cash-Out Home Mortgage Refinance Information

Many people are looking to do a cash-out home refinance in today’s tough economy, so I thought it was an important time to recap the major points of a cash-out refinance.

First, you might wonder what is construed as a cash-out refinance. The first cash-out refinance scenario is obvious, you refinance your first mortgage and take cash out against your home’s equity. The second scenario for a cash-out is where you refinance your first mortgage and second mortgage (if applicable) and consolidate bills such as credit cards and installment loans into your new home loan.

The third scenario classified as a cash-out refinance is where you refinance your first and second mortgage (or HELOC) when your second mortgage was not taken out on the same day as your fist mortgage.

So, why is it important to know whether your loan scenario is classified as a cash-out refinance or a regular rate-term refinance?

It’s all in the Loan-to-Value Ratios (LTV) allowed. Earlier this year, both conventional and FHA loans capped the maximum LTV allowed for cash-out refinance loans. The limits were dropped from a high of 95 percent down to 85 percent.

Now, a ten percent drop may not seem like much, but it can mean the difference between a great loan scenario to a lesser benefit loan scenario to an outright undoable refinance mortgage. Considering the nation-wide drop in home values over the past couple of years, that 10 percent drop in LTV has hit home hard for many that could benefit with a cash-out refinance mortgage.

Also consider that most cash-out refinancing homeowners are rolling their closing costs back into the new loan. So, if you want to refinance your current mortgage balance of $150,000 and consolidate $50,000 in credit card and installment loans into a loan program that has $5,000 in closing and settlement costs, your home will need to appraise for at least $241,176. ($150,000 + $50,000 + $5,000 = $205,000 divided by .85 = $241,176).

Under the old 95 percent LTV limit, your appraisal for this same scenario could come in as low as $215,789 ($205,000 divided by .95 = $215,789).

As you can see, a ten percent drop in LTV may not seem like much, but it has a very significant impact on higher LTV loans.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, October 28, 2009

How About a Little Service with those Low Mortgage Refinance Rates?

Sometimes, we in the home loan mortgage refinance business tend to spout out at the mouth about the current state of interest rates, program options, loan scenarios, and on and on, yet customer service is rarely mentioned. Yes, this is extremely important, yet an often overlooked aspect of the borrower’s refinance lender decision.

Quality home loan lender service is crucial to both the mortgage pre-qualification stage, as well as the actual loan process stage.

Sometimes, a loan officer will act more as an order taker than an actual advisor. Either through inexperience or the “Asking Less Leads to More Sales” approach, the borrowing customer is really short-changed and may not even know it.

Ideally, you want to work with a loan advisor that will take an interest in your financial goals and ask questions about your loan scenario. Many times, there is a much better program for your particular objective and timeframes that can go undiscovered because of an order-taker mentality. I don’t know about you, but throwing up to tens of thousands of dollars out the window would get me a little hot and bothered, when a few extra questions would have made the difference.

Good service also means answering all customer questions in a courteous and timely manner, discussing possible loan scenarios is your appraisal comes in at X, instead of Y, preparing breakeven analysis and total benefit reports, and relaying your home loan options in a clear to understand manner.

I can’t tell you the number of people that call the Refinance Toolbox, complaining that an advisor with Lender X will not answer their phone or email. Let alone the number of times a homeowner has been pre-qualified with bad or even “unrealistic” loan programs.

In the loan processing stage, you want your lender to run like a well-oiled machine. This does not mean that unforeseen loan issues won’t arise, appraisals will come in perfectly, etc., in every case. It means that your lender will have a clear and concise loan process initiated by experienced and trained staff for your particular loan product. It also means that you have total access to your loan process, loan advisor and processor …. You should be informed during your home loan process.

So how do you tell if you’re speaking with an order-taker or the real deal? If your loan advisor did not already explain their mortgage experience, give you a thorough pre-qualification, and explain their company loan process, just Ask!

Your home loan refinance is a huge decision, so you want to make sure that you have as much information as possible about your potential new mortgage lender. You Deserve It!

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Refinancing Into a Lower Term Mortgage Can be a Great Investment

Everyone wants a great high yielding and low risk investment opportunity, but seldom does one think of a home mortgage in that light. Yet, for many homeowners, refinancing into a lower term mortgage can be a great long-term investment strategy, especially when refinance rates are as low as they are currently.

For instance, suppose you currently have a 6.5% 30 year fixed rate mortgage that you took out 2 years ago. The total interest on that loan over the entire term of the loan amounts to $318,861, of which you have already paid $32,000.

Now, if you refinanced into a $250,000 15 year fixed rate mortgage at 4.5%, the total interest on your new home loan would only amount to $94,247 over the 15 year term.

So lets recap. The 30 year interest of $318,861 less the $32,000 already paid less the $94,247 total interest for the 15 year fixed mortgage results in a net interest savings of $192,614 by refinancing to the 15 year option.

Now you might say that is better than grits and gravy, but the payment goes up. In this example the monthly payment would increase by $332.

Most people scoff at the idea of increasing their mortgage payment, but I would suggest that you consider it an investment and a Great Deal!

Think about it. We may never see the current historic low interest rates ever again after we dig out of this national economic mess.

In this example, which is pretty typical, the homeowner would be investing in a sure $192,614 profit by paying an additional $322 per month into their own home! Better yet, the IRS is not going to take 50% nor 28% nor 15% of that profit …. Wer’e talking a tax-free investment!

I don’t know about you, but I seldom run into such safe and prosperous tax-free investment opportunities.

Not to mention that your mortgage paying days will be over in 15 years as opposed to 28 years. For those in their 20’s, that may not seem like an issue, but the prospect becomes much more important to those over 30 years old.

All that said, there is a risk to this investment strategy. If you cannot make the increased monthly payment, then you can run into a major problem and possibly risk losing your home.

It is ultra-important that you can make the increased payment comfortably. Even if the qualifying debt ratios say that you are good, you need to make a real-world assessment considering your current employment and monthly budget.

If the budget checks out, then you could be on your way to making one of the best investment decisions of your life by refinancing into a shorter term home loan while mortgage refinance rates are so low.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Thursday, October 15, 2009

Cost of Waiting for Lower Mortgage Refinance Rates

If you have been following mortgage refinance rates over the past month, you will have noticed that rates have dropped to near the historic low levels experienced earlier this year. Many refinancing homeowners that sat on the fence earlier this year have been quick to jump in on this latest mortgage rate drop and lock their loan.

Yet, there are others that are waiting to refinance in the event that interest rates drop even further. This is fine strategy if current refinance rates are not creating a benefit that will help you much. But for those sitting on a significant financial benefit at current rates, this could end up costing you up to tens of thousands of dollars in the long run, even if you do eventually refinance at a lower-than current interest rate down the road.

For example, suppose that you currently have a 1st and a 2nd mortgage totaling $250,000 that you want to refinance into one low fixed rate 30-Year home loan. Your current combined principle and interest (P&I) monthly payment is $1,622. You can refinance today at 5.0%, which would result in a new P&I payment of $1,342. Your total monthly savings would be $280.

You hold off on your refinance plans because a so-called “expert” on CNBC says that rates could go down further in 2010 (no one knows where rates will go next week, let alone in 6 months to a year!).

Now, assuming that things go your way and mortgage refinance rates do drop to 4.75% 6 months down the road your new P&I payment would be $1,304 per month. You will then be in a deal that is $38 per month better than if you had locked 6 months earlier. That’s great, but don’t forget that you had a $280 benefit 6 months ago, so you lost out on $1,680 in savings. It will take you 44 months to make up the difference ($1,680 divided by $38).

Is that really worth the risk? Suppose interest rates actually go up from here or take a year to drop to 4.75%? (In which case, it would now take 88 months to make up the initial savings difference).

What if things don’t go your way and refinance rates go up and don’t retreat back to even 5.0%? If you hold off on locking for a better deal and never end up refinancing, it will have cost you $100,800 in lost savings over the term of the current-rate proposed loan in this example.

Hey, everyone wants to get in at the absolute bottom, whether it be the stock market or mortgage refinance rates, but the truth of the matter is that few ever do. And the ones that do get in at the bottom can mostly be attributed to blind luck.

The moral of the story is that if you are staring at a significant financial gain with current historic low mortgage refinance rates, be very careful about holding your rate lock decision for hopes of lower interest rates. It could cost you dearly in the long-run.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

Refinance Tool Box

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

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Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Mortgage Refinance Rates Still Near 5.0 Percent

The steadiness of mortgage refinance rates over the past month or so has been a welcome change from the interest rate roller coaster ride experienced over the past couple of years. In fact, we are now near the historic low home loan rates of Spring 2009.

There seems to be a standstill at the moment as the unsettled economy is drawing investors into and out of the security of treasury bonds, maintaining the low yield in a tight range and keeping refinance mortgage rates a nice bargain.

Home values and credit scores continue to be the major determining factor for qualification into these great rates. FHA refinance home loans continue to offer low rates to those with credit scores as low as a 620 mid fico and you can have a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio up to 97 percent.

For those looking for conventional loans with no PMI, your home value will be critical. Don’t forget to include your closing costs into your total loan amount in calculating your qualifying LTV if you are not paying for closing costs out of pocket. You will need to be at an 80 percent LTV or lower to eliminate PMI.

The housing value picture is still muddied, but looks a whole heck of a lot better than it did even a few months ago. The latest home sales numbers have been rather positive and we have even experienced home values increasing in many markets…. Hip Hip Hooray!!

Now, before we pop the cork on the champagne, there are also some troubling housing market variables that lurk around the corner. There are apparently a huge number of distressed homes waiting to hit the sales market. Banks have been holding these foreclosed homes for various reasons, but they could soon hit the sales listings. This could be a big hit to an already unsettled outlook.

Not to mention the jobs picture. Unemployment numbers continue rise as corporations work to improve their balance sheets. This is also putting a damper on housing activity.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Current Low Refinance Mortgage Rates and Home Loan Term Reduction

Way back in the early part of 2009, the refinance mortgage rate spread difference between a 30-year fixed rate mortgage and a 15-year fixed rate home loan was virtually negligent. Many refinancing homeowners opted for the 30-year mortgage and the lower payment, since the cost of the interest rate was pretty much the same. The feeling was that the borrower could pay extra toward the principle to reduce their loan term or simply take advantage of the monthly savings for something else. The key was that the option was in the hand of the homeowner to make that decision.

Fast-forward to present and the interest rate spreads are vastly different. 15-year fixed rate mortgages are much cheaper than their 30-year counterpart.

For instance, I just ran a rate search for a loan scenario with a $250,000 home value, $200,000 loan amount and a 760 credit score. The closest to par or “even’ rate for the 30-year fixed is at 4.875%, while the closest to par for the 15-year fixed is 4.25%.

Yes, there is currently a significant reduction in rate for shorter-term loans.

If a refinancing homeowner took the 30-year mortgage option for their new $200,000 home loan, their monthly principle and interest payment would be $1,058 and total interest paid for the term of the loan would amount to $181,029.

Taking the 15-year option would result in a monthly principle and interest payment of $1,504 and total interest paid over the term of the loan would be $70,820.

The interest saved by choosing the 15-year refinance is $110,209!

Now, you might say that is all well and good but the monthly payment difference is $446. That is why it is extremely important to take the new payment into consideration before refinancing into a shorter term. You must be comfortable with the new payment.

Also consider that the increase in monthly payment may not be as significant from your current payment, because mortgage refinance rates are currently so low.

For example, if the borrower in the preceding example is refinancing from a $200,000 30-year mortgage taken out 2 years ago at 6.5%, their current monthly payment for principle and interest is $1,264. Refinancing into the 15-year option would result in only a $240 per month difference, plus a reduction in loan term of 13 years along with total interest savings of around $200,000.

Also, for those consolidating debts, a term reduction can lead to a lower overall monthly payment in many cases.

The long and the short of it is that there are many options to save significant dollars when mortgage refinance rates are as low as they are now. Planning your benefit in conjunction with your new mortgage timeframe is a smart way to go.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Refinance Mortgage Home Loan Demand Soaring Again

The cure for sagging refinance mortgage application numbers is a good ole drop in interest rates, and that is exactly what has happened over the past several weeks. The combination of a consistent low 10-year Treasury yield and a falling mortgage spread premium has national average refinance rates for 30-year fixed rate home loans dipping below 5.0 percent for the first time since March of 2009.

To put a little perspective on the current mortgage rate picture, last year at this time, interest rates were over 6.0 percent.

The MBA's seasonally adjusted index of refinancing applications increased 17.4 percent to 2,881.5, its highest since the week ended May 29. Much of this may be due to the refinancing homeowners that stood on the fence earlier in the year, missing their rate lock opportunity before rates went up to 5.5 percent later in the summer. Now that par rates are under 5.0 percent for many home loan refinancing programs, the fence sitters have decided to jump on the opportunity and get over the fear that rates could drop even further.

In reality, the risk for rates to go up from here is much greater risk than waiting to see if rates come down. You might be risking the possibility for a 4.75 percent average market interest rate if rates drop for a 6.0 percent or higher rate if the mortgage market turns.

In other good short-term news, low mortgage rates combined with the government’s $8,000 tax credit stimulus bill for first time homebuyers has helped to stabilize the housing market. We actually had a slight price gain in housing for the last reporting month. We’ll take it!

As always, if you are considering a refinance, make sure to get a solid pre-qualification before you apply for your new home loan. Yes, it may take a little extra time on the phone with your home loan consultant, but it will be more than worth the effort.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Mortgage Refinance Rates Still Hovering Near All-Time Lows

The year 2009 has been great for mortgage refinance rates. We started off the year with a bang, as interest rates for 30 year fixed mortgages dipped below 5.0% for a brief period, before gradually climbing back up to the 5.5% level into the summer.

Fortunately, for those that missed their lock opportunity earlier in the year, rates have once again dipped to near historic low levels.

Mortgage refinance rates have been helped by the consistent 10-year treasury yield that has held near the 3.5% level for quite some time. The mortgage spreads have also come down with this recent mortgage rate dip.

Added to these mortgage rate-reducing factors, the US government recently plunked down billions to buy mortgage-backed securities that have been glutting the market. This may be helping to free up some lender and investor capital back into the mortgage markets.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, September 9, 2009

FHA Mortgage as an Alternative to Jumbo Conventional Loans?

There are many people that purchased homes in the “high-cost” areas of the country during the great real estate boom of the mid 2000’s. A rather larger percentage of these home loans were either adjustable rate mortgages or high loan-to-value (LTV) loans that carried a higher rate of interest.

With mortgage refinance rates being as low as they are now in the home loan market, it makes a lot of sense for these folks to refinance out of that adjustable rate or into a much lower fixed rate at present time. The problem for many of these homeowners is that the rapid decline in home prices over the past couple of years has tapped most of the remaining equity in their homes, and conventional refinance mortgage rates are relatively high for LTV’s over 90%, plus the ever skyrocketing cost of monthly private mortgage insurance (PMI) for conventional loans.

Another hurdle to folks in the expensive neck of the woods is to find competitive refinance rates for home loans over $417,000, which for the most part, are currently priced at a higher rate of interest for Jumbo conventional mortgage status.

One way to potentially sidestep this issue is to inquire about an FHA refinance home loan. In many high-cost areas, FHA loan limits far exceed the $417,000 cap imposed on conventional loans, and still give you rock-bottom current market interest rates.

Another benefit of the FHA mortgage is that you can refinance up to 97 percent of the appraised value of your home and not have to worry about your interest rate going through the roof. In a declining housing market, where your LTV is tight, this can give you a little extra breathing room as compared to a conventional home loan option.

It is important to note the FHA refinance will require a 1.75% upfront mortgage premium (UMP) that is added to the loan amount, but not included in the LTV calculation. Make sure to get your rate quote with the (UMP) added into the loan amount so that you have the “bottom-line” numbers for your home loan comparisons.

On the refinance mortgage rates front, rates continue to hold steady at near historic low levels. The mortgage-spread premium has declined a bit, and the 10-year treasury yield continues to be kind.

The housing value front is still a bit muddied as both pending and sold sales figures have improved in recent months, but the word on the street is that another wave of home foreclosures is about to hit the market.

All in all, just another crazy week in the world of home mortgage refinance.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, September 2, 2009

A Deeper Look into Refinance Closing Costs

Now, I know that most everyone hates the closing costs associated with refinance home loans. In fact, most people feel that any cost or fee for a new mortgage is completely unacceptable. But, before you hang up the phone on your friendly loan officer upon the first mention of mortgage closing costs, please review the whole financial picture for your mortgage scenario, or you may be throwing tens of thousands of dollars in benefit out the window for spite.

First things First. There are actual and legitimate costs associated with a refinance mortgage home loan. Fees must be paid for title searches, attorneys, title insurance, closing agents, etc. Also, depending upon your state of residence, there may be a state mortgage tax. Most home refinance lenders will also charge a fee for your application and loan processing along with an underwriting fee, which are real overhead expenses incurred by your mortgage lender of choice.

First things Second. Most lenders will also charge an “origination’ fee, which is a percentage of your total loan amount and the real place where a lender makes their money, since the previously mentioned costs go to either third party vendors or for operating overhead, the origination fee is where the real profit lies.

First things Third. A borrower may choose to “Buy-Down” their interest rate using discount points, which are added upfront to closing costs. One discount point equals one percent of your total loan amount. A lender does not typically make any money when a borrower uses discount points, except in the case of a mortgage broker that sells a borrower a higher rate of interest than the “Par” or “Even” interest rate, whereby the broker receives a rebate back from the bank holding the mortgage.

As you might guess, refinance closing costs can add up rather quickly, especially for those utilizing discount points and for those that have rather large total loan amounts. A potential borrower may look at the bottom-line closing cost amount and quickly jump to the conclusion that their lender is trying to rip them off, but that is most likely not the truth. What you may view as a large closing cost sum could be one of the best long-term investments you will ever make.

As previously mentioned, a home mortgage lender really makes their money or profit from the origination fee that they charge, since all other costs are going to cover third party vendors and the overhead cost of running their business, including the processing of loans.

If the refinance lender charges, say a 1% origination fee on a $300,000 loan amount, that leaves $3,000 for the coffers. Now, you might feel that is even too much, but consider the following.

Of that $3,000, your refinance lender has to pay the loan officer that handled the loan, which generally may be a 50/50 split. The remaining $1,500 will then be hacked down again for a loan loss reserve, which could be as high as $500, leaving $1,000 for lender profit.

Now consider that the $1,000 profit is for a loan, which of course, closed. As we all should be aware, a percentage of mortgage applications never make it to closing, yet the lender has invested time, resources and money into these loans at a loss, which eats into the profit of successfully closed loans.

You now may be getting an idea to one of the reasons why so many mortgage lenders have closed their doors in the past several years.

From a mortgage borrower’s perspective, it is easy to understand why the “alert” radar kicks in after reviewing their good faith closing costs totals, but that may be an uninformed assessment at first glance.

Yes, there are mortgage refinance lenders that charge more than others, and may inflate processing, application, and title fees.

Also consider there are huge loan processing and customer service differences among home loan lenders. Comparing lenders on fees alone, without taking their “service” level into account could be a costly error.

The preceding closing cost information is meant as a general overview of closing costs and how lenders make their money, but is not how every lender operates. In any event, the information should give you a better general understanding of refinance closing costs and in an odd sort of way, actually make you feel better about them when you understand that your lender is not socking away all those closing costs into their pockets.

Now to the moral of the closing costs story:

Say you are offered a competitive refinance rate on a new 30 Year Fixed Rate home loan that will save you $200 per month. The total closing costs amount to $3,000, which are rolled into your new loan. The closing costs will have paid for themselves in 15 months ($3,000 divided by $200). If you stay in you new mortgage for more than 15 months, it looks like a good deal. If you stay in your new mortgage for the loan term, you will have saved $69,000 in total (360 months minus 15 months breakeven times $200/month savings), which is a great deal.

If you scoffed at the deal originally because of the $3,000 closing costs, that could come back to haunt you in the future. Also keep in mind that most refinance closing costs are rolled back into your loan amount so you are not paying that money out of pocket at closing. In a sense, you are using the mortgage lender to finance your long-term benefit, just like big business operates. If your timeframe for your new mortgage is longer than the breakeven point, then closing costs can be viewed as a great deal, and smart business.

Having the proper perspective on refinance closing costs is particularly crucial with today’s refinance rate environment, as interest rates are pretty much at historic lows. If you reject a new home loan deal because you deem that closing costs are too high, your “benefit” time horizon may pass you by as interest rates rise. Always look at your bottom-line benefit and your expected loan timeframe before closing the door on a potential home refinance opportunity.

Working with a lender that quotes upfront and guaranteed closing costs will be a big help for a refinancing homeowner. Your prospective new lender should be able to detail all closing and settlement costs, plus go over your breakeven analysis with you. In the end, the numbers will tell the story and you can act in your own best interest based on your bottom-line benefit in conjunction with your loan timeframe. The numbers just may result in a very pleasant surprise for you, even with closing costs.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Refinance Mortgage Rates Still Holding Low as Home Prices Stabilize

Alas, some good news pertaining to the overall general economy and the world of home mortgage financing. Home prices posted their first quarterly increase in three years, signaling the housing market just possibly is turning the corner, while mortgage rates continue to hug the lower end of the spectrum.

The Standard & Poor's/Case-Shiller's U.S. National Home Price Index released Tuesday rose nearly 3 percent from the first quarter to 133. The monthly index of 20 major cities increased 1.4 percent from May to June to 142, the second straight month the index registered a gain, but still way too early to hold a celebration party.

Home prices still have a long way to go to recover completely. In reality, home prices have fallen 30 percent from the peak in the second quarter of 2006. That said, even a clear stabilization in home prices would be a victory in the near term. If continued positive housing numbers extend into the 3rd quarter, that will go a long way toward the easing of refinance and home purchase mortgage lender restrictions, along with a possible further decline to the mortgage spread premium.

Of course, there would be nothing better for the overall economy than to have a stabilized housing market. The financial healing will begin and the jobs picture will become a whole lot rosier.

Just like predicting where refinance mortgage rates will go from here, predictions of the housing market recovery are not worth much. Just like with weather predictions, most forecasters are fairly accurate in the short-term, but the long term forecasts usually fall apart.

Earlier this week, Fed chairman Ben Bernanke declared the global economy is beginning to emerge from its worst crisis in generations, the emphasis will be on whether central banks continue to work together to prevent a crisis like this from happening again or if each will take its own path to assure the path to recovery is smooth.

There has also been a revisiting of the packaged mortgage CDO investments by a number of banking institutions. Although no standard pricing model has been adopted, some banks appear to be packaging those underwater mortgage debts alongside its AAA rated mortgages and marketing them as they are, with no pretense. If this type of investment vehicle takes hold, the entire financial system could be purged of it’s toxic debts and really open the mortgage lending industry up full throttle. The idea sounds nice on paper, but don’t hold your breathe if this latest toxic debt effort falls on its face.

Mortgage rates are still holding at low levels. The treasury yield has been bouncing back and forth, but really seems to have been hugging that 3.5% mark since early July. That is good for mortgage rates and good for those still looking to refinance their home loan or debt consolidation.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Refinance Mortgage Applications Rise as Home Loan Rates Fall

Home refinance applications rose last week as mortgage rates fell to a five-week low. The Mortgage Bankers Association said its seasonally adjusted index of mortgage applications, which includes both purchase and refinance loans, for the week ended August 14 increased 5.6 percent.

There appears to be two factors at force here driving down mortgage rates.

First is the decrease in the mortgage spread premium. Remember that it is the combination of the mortgage premium plus the yield on the 10-Year Treasury bond that makes up the interest rates for home loans that are offered to consumers. Earlier this year, the mortgage spread premium was at a whopping 3 percent when the treasury yield plummeted to near 2 percent. When considering the current bond yield to the national average mortgage rate for a 30-year fixed home loan, the resulting mortgage spread premium is now sitting at near 2 percent. That is a nice drop within one-years time.

The second reason for the recent drop in home loan mortgage rates is the decline in the 10-year treasury yield. Within the past five weeks, we have shaved nearly one-quarter percent off the yield, which is good for mortgage shoppers. The most likely culprit for the drop in yield is the reversal trend to the huge stock market bounce coupled with nice long-term projections of stable inflationary numbers. When inflation is in check and investors need a place to park their money, US bonds are often used, driving the yield down.

Although housing numbers have been much better as of late, many are still skeptical of calling a housing market bottom. Home inventories have decreased, but may be the result of the summer buying market coupled with the $8,000 tax credit incentive offered to first-time homebuyers by the US government. There are also slew of homes waiting to hit the market from “held-up” home foreclosures.

Where refinance or home purchase mortgage rates go from here is anyone’s guess, but if you are in the market for a new home loan, you may consider dipping your toes in the water here. It has been a great year to lock rates when they dip, which is currently the case for refinance mortgage rates.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Fed Keeps Rates Low – Mortgage Rates Still Steady

The Federal Reserve delivered a vote of confidence in the economy Wednesday, saying it would slow the pace of an emergency rescue program and indicating the recession appears to be ending.

The central bank is keeping bank lending rates near zero and again pledged to keep them there for "an extended period" to nurture an anticipated recovery.

Although bank lending rates do no translate evenly with mortgage rates, it’s still a good sign that will help to keep the current low mortgage rates in check. The two big risks at the moment for a mortgage rate hike would be inflation and/or an increase in the 10 Year Treasury yield.

The Fed continues to report that inflation remains in check both in the short-term and looking forward. As far as the treasury yields go, there could be a dramatic bump upwards if the stock market goes bananas on the economic recovery message. This appears unlikely as we have experienced a dramatic surge in the stock market from the March lows, but never assume anything where investors are concerned.

There are two views on the stock market now. One that exclaims we are going back to the Moon and another that states we will retest the March 2009 lows. The head scratcher is that they both present very good arguments based on both technical and psychological information.

All in all, mortgage refinance rates continue to behave in steady fashion with national average rates on the 30-year fixed still hovering in the 5.375% range. In the past week we did experience some rather volatile back and forth on the treasury yield, but end in a stalemate.

Perhaps the very best of recent news has been the improved housing numbers. Sales are up and it appears to have legs under it. That said, don’t expect home prices to surge any time soon, in fact, we will more than likely experience more down trending in the home value department over the next 6 months to a year.

But, we can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel and housing stabilization is finally in the cards.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Positive Housing Numbers Impacting Mortgage Spreads?

The US housing numbers continue to show signs of improvement as more Americans signed sales contracts to buy homes in June than in May, the fifth consecutive month of increases, according to a report released today.

The Pending Home Sales Index rose by 3.6% in June, which was 6.7% higher than the June 2008 numbers according to the National Association of Realtors.

It’s becoming apparent that the current low home mortgage rates along with a large supply of houses listed at low prices are luring home buyers off the fence to put their offers in. This is truly the first bit of continued positive news on housing in quite some time.

The positive home sales numbers in combination with recent good news on the overall recovery of the US economy may be having an impact on the mortgage spread risk premium, which is a major component of the mortgage rates that are offered to borrowers.

Back in January, when the 10-year treasury yield flirted with 2.0 percent, the national average par or even mortgage rates were hovering at about 5.0 percent for a 30-year fixed mortgage rate. This translated to a mortgage spread premium of almost 3.0 percent, which was much higher than its historic 1.5 percent average. Both the economy and the housing markets were still in free-fall mode at that point so the risk factor had to be imputed into the lender’s quoted home mortgage rates.

At present, the 10-year treasury yield is in the 3.5 percent range, with the national average 30-year fixed par rates holding between 5.35 percent and 5.50 percent. That equates to a mortgage spread risk premium at the 1.85 to 2.0 percent level, which is well off the highs of the early part of 2009.

The significantly lowered mortgage spread premium is most likely due to the improved economic and housing environment, and is keeping both home purchase and refinance mortgage rates steady at very attractive levels.

Continued improvement in the housing markets will result in much more stable home appraisals, and help those refinancing to feel a bit more comfortable come application time.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Tuesday, July 28, 2009

Home Sales Rise 11% in June

There may be a glimmer of hope out there that the housing market is finally beginning to stabilize. New home sales enjoyed the fastest increase in more than eight years in the month of June, most likely as the result of the federal tax credit, bargain basement home prices and low home mortgage interest rates.

While new home sales are only 15% of total home sales and it’s meaning was undermined by many analysts, the rise in new home sales was strong. June new home sales advanced by 10.98% to an annual rate of 384k units, beating estimates handily. It was the highest level of monthly sales since October 2008 and the largest percentage increase since December 2000 (of course the bounce in June was off of a lower base).

The months' supply of homes available for sale plunged to 8.8 from 10.2. Prices inched lower from May.

Although home prices are still falling, it appears that there has been a bit of a bounce in the housing markets as of late. We have definitely gotten over the worst of it, and need to form a base for home prices before we can ascend to the heavens once again.

Falling home prices in the past two years have been the biggest roadblock for many to take advantage of the ultra low refinance mortgage rates on the market. A healthy mortgage market will definitely help the pull-through rate (or total home loan closings as a percentage of total mortgage applications).

It is still too early to tell whether home prices will begin to flatten out here, but the increase in home purchase activity appears to have some legs behind it.

On the mortgage refinance rates front, we are still in a range bound mode with the national average 30 Year Fixed Rate still hovering between 5.375% and 5.5% for conventional home loans for those with good credit and a loan-to-value ratio at or under 80 percent.

As the economy and housing markets improve, we would expect a decrease to the mortgage spread premium, but that said, the treasury yield will most likely increase in similar fashion, so the whole thing may end up as a wash as far as mortgage refinance rates are concerned.

As long as inflation stays in check, it is possible that we could remain range-bound at current interest rate levels for quite some time.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Mortgage Refinancing Activity Picks Up into Summer

Let the second round begin! After an unprecedented number of mortgage refinance application submissions from this past winter into spring, activity slowed somewhat dramatically in the early part of the summer as home loan rates began to rise.

Refinance mortgage rates approached 5.5 percent for a 30 year fixed rate on a national average basis, and many people felt that was too expensive (it’s all perspective I guess).

Well, the treasury yield became kind once again and dropped almost one-half percentage point from early summer to present, which has been reflected in another dip to interest rates.

With that drop, refinance mortgage applications have picked up once again. Maybe it’s just the homeowners that missed out earlier in the year, and now don’t want to miss the boat, or maybe it’s a whole new crop of people coming to the party. My guess is that it’s a little bit of both.

Federal Reserve Chairman Ben Bernanke testified before congress yesterday, and his comments regarding inflation were welcomed kindly by bond investors. As threat of inflation increases, bond yields go up, so a projection for tame inflation numbers is a good thing for mortgage rates.

All in all, mortgage refinance rates have held pretty consistent over the past month, but the fly in the ointment continues to be home values. There is still no clear-cut housing bottom in sight and continued high foreclosure rates could prolong the agony.

The big hope coming into the summer was that home buyers would come off the fence with the government’s $8,000 first time homebuyer credit incentive, but the numbers remain to be reported. The juicy credit, coupled with very attractive home prices could be just what we need to reduce some of the hefty home inventory.

Mortgage rates are just off the lows of the year, and considered on an historical perspective, are a steal. The big question is whether you will qualify for the cherry programs based on your home value, credit score, and debt-to-income ratio.

If you are considering a refinance now and need some help, have questions, or need some competitive rate quotes, please check out the popular Refinance Tool Box. Just give a call at 888-850-9888 or fill out a Rate Quote Request online for professional assistance without the aggressive high-pressure sales tactics.

May the Mortgage Refinance Rates be with You!

Refinance Tool Box

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